Buns of steel

25Jun09

I’ve just come back from another torturous hour with the personal trainer at the gym. I swear he is trying to kill me!

I know I’ve said that I need to lose weight, but I also need to be able to breathe.

After doing so many routines which involve over 120 squats my bum has firmed up a lot and even got perter. Now I’m back on the legs it seems and we are still working on the super sets. My thighs are so sore I just know I’m not going to be able to walk tomorrow. Good job I work in an office and don’t have to run about too much.

The routine doesn’t look too bad when written down, but in reality it’s a killer:

Cross trainer – 10 minutes. 30 sec sprint, 30 sec slower.

5 point lunge – 3 x 5 each side
Leg extension – 3 x 18 reps, with 20kg weight

Sumo squat and upright row – 3 x 15 reps, 12kg weight
Semi squat push press – 3 x 18 reps, 4kg+ weight

Walking lunge – 3 x 10-16
Step knee lifts – 3 x 10 each side

Press up hand touch – 3 x 20-30 sec
Jab, cross, hook – 3 x 10 reps

Followed by stretches and possibly a life support machine!

I don’t know whether I find it a challenge because I’m tubby and still a little unfit or if I’m just meant to find it difficult.

Does this sound tough to anyone else?



3 Responses to “Buns of steel”

  1. I can barely do 10 situps so yeah, sounds hella hard!

  2. Personal Trainers are there to challenge you. What might be difficult for you may be easy for me and vice versa. If it is too difficult let them know. They will work it in a way that will be best for you but you have to remember that they are going to make it challenging. No workout is supposed to be easy. If it is, you aren’t working out properly. Good luck!


Leave a comment