Getting to know… me?

26May09

I didn’t get to watch any Vin Diesel in the end. Instead I got to see Mark open and enjoy his presents (early) and then he spent hours playing Rock Band with his Guitar Hero guitar. This guy has some serious co-ordination. I haven’t even attempted it yet because I know how clumsy I can be, but he’s hitting practically 99% on every song he’s played, first time round. He makes me feel so clumsy and oaf like! Yes he’s play GH a few times over but he’s still got skill.

Then we watched all of series one and half of series two of The Inbetweeners.

“What’s on the mind of the average sixth-form boy? College, jobs, marriage, that whole bright and exciting future thing? Or the humpability of anything female in sight? For Will, Simon, Jay and Neil, it’s humpability all the way.”

I didn’t think I’d like it as much as I did. Typical school boy humour, but I laughed and smiled away to myself. Reminiscing over the years when I was at school. Sometimes I’d give anything to go back there, take away all the stress, money problems, responsibilities and just get on with school. I missed out doing my A Levels and have probably missed out on some good opportunities due to a supposed friend and it’s probably the one thing I do regret about the past. Do you ever wish you could turn back the clock and go back to school?

Plus I ate and ate and ate. And slept. I ate pizza, chips, chicken, McDonalds, chinese. Yum. I definitely need to be going to the gym tomorrow. Trying out my new routine and seeing if these star jumps – yes, star jumps, people – give me some serious black eyes.

So, it’s Marks birthday today and he’s turned 31. He’s officially in his 30’s now. I don’t think he’s yet started to worry about age or the situation we find ourselves in. It seems to be coming increasingly harder to get out of. I’m going to be 26 this year and I know we’ve got so much time ahead of us, but I know we’ll soon be 50 years old and still living with our bloody parents. I’m becoming much more aware of what I want from our relationship, where I want it to go and he knows how I feel. I think he feels and wants it too, it’s just hard to figure out what he’s thinking some of the time. He has promised to look at houses for us to buy even though we can’t afford anything, but it will show us something we hope to achieve.

Sometimes I feel like I’m trying to run before I can walk. Other times I feel we’ve been together for so long now we should at least push forward with us. We’re engaged and still living at home. What are we going to do? Get married and still live in separate houses? I hope not! All I want is for us to be together. Properly. When we are together nothing else seems to matter, we get on so well when we are left alone. I want that all of the time, not just on the odd occasion.

Why do I always want what I can’t have?



4 Responses to “Getting to know… me?”

  1. Why don’t you guys try renting something for a year? See where it takes you?

    To be honest we don’t really have the spare cash to rent. Plus I’d probably have to give up work and move his way because he has such a long drive to his work. Plus he earns a lot more than me and I could easily get another admin job. We’ve talked about it, but we kind of feel we’d be wasting our money when we could save it up for a large deposit.

  2. 2 beccasfamilyof5

    I agree, rent. And it’s not unreasonable to want that in the slightest. Relationships are about finding a middle of the road in things, you both need to work this out and be willing to meet halfway on something completely out of both your usual comforts. x

    Like I said up there ^, there’s a few complications on that matter. We will get there one day. We always seem to end up in an argument whenever we talk about it, which is my fault because I always bring it up at the wrong time. We will get there, we always do.

  3. 3 beccasfamilyof5

    (i meant comfort zones)

  4. 4 gena

    Do i want to repeat high school? Err…no. Definately not. High school was not exactly the best time of my life though I wish I had of tried a little harder and went to Uni for a degree but meh, shit happens. Sure it’s alot harder being an adult and being responsible but i can also recall all the stress of school too and working beats school hands down *L*

    As for you and Mark, all i can advise for you both is to save as much money as you possibly can whilst you are living at home with the parents. I’m not sure how your ecomony is doing over there but ours is a bit up to shit so doing anything that will blow the budget is a bit of a no, no. Save and give it another 6 months and see how you both feel then. In the meantime you could organise a budget as to what furniture you would need if you were to move out together and plan for that.

    Thanks Gena. I think that’s what we will probably end up doing. I’ve been given a decent payrise so that should help with the saving.


Leave a comment